The structures pictured above are limestone kilns originally used to make coke for Lawrence Furnace. They were later part of the Ohio Calcium Company and used to crystallize limestone.
“Mr. John CAMPBELL was employed by J. Riggs & Co. in keeping books and helping oversee the building of Mt. Vernon Furnace for a period of one year and ten months, and his salary made part of a loan of $1500 he made that company for his expenses were few in the woods, and he had something less than $800 when he came to Hanging Rock in March 1833. His subscription to build Mt. Vernon was by borrowing, which had to be paid in 1835 and later. For this purpose he arranged to procure funds from his father and his aunt Fidella HOPKINS of Ripley, Ohio upon his home visit in January 1835, and which he might in the summer of 1833, have procured from his two uncles, Jos. N. CAMPBELL, Judge of Common Pleas at Ripley, or John W. CAMPBELL Federal Judge at Columbus, both of whom died of cholera that year. Mr. CAMPBELL stated that the most trying experience was the first night in the woods at “Cranes Nest” or Lawrence Furnace. A cabin or shelter protected him from the weather, but there was no bedding and he had only a stove pipe buried in the earth for a pillow.”
— Excerpt from “ELLISON FAMILY FROM LAWRENCE COUNTY OHIO” by Sharon M. Kouns. Can be viewed HERE.
The latter Lawrence Furnace was dismantled in 1923.